Current Speakers

Barbarra Buchner

Executive Directore


Dr. Barbara Buchner is Executive Director of the widely renowned Climate Finance program at Climate Policy Initiative. Named one of the 20 most influential women in climate change and one of the 100 most influential people in climate policy, Barbara advises leaders on climate, energy, and land use investments around the world.

Barbara directs the Global Innovation Lab for Climate Finance (the Lab) and its sister programs in Brazil and India. The Lab’s public-private approach solicits, shapes, and tests cutting edge climate finance instruments that resolve financing barriers hindering alternative energy, adaptation, and land use projects. Instruments from the Lab have mobilized over 1.4 billion US dollars for sustainable development in developing countries in just four years.

Cristina Gamboa



Cristina Gamboa, CEO of the World Green Building Council is a passionate advocate for green buildings and cities as one of the most effective solutions to climate change and as a means to deliver on social justice and other environmental goals, such as stopping biodiversity loss.

Prior to joining WorldGBC, she was CEO of Colombia Green Building Council and also has expertise in the fields of economic research, journalism and international affairs. Thanks to her active, committed and participatory leadership, and thorough knowledge of sustainable development, the Colombia GBC met significant milestones that enabled sustainability in construction to become mainstream in her home country.

H.E. Dr. Yasmine Fouad

Minister of Environment

Arab Republic of Egypt

Dr. Yasmine Fouad is Minister of Environment of the Arabic Republic of Egypt. Her expertise is in Environment and International cooperation with more than 18 years’ experience working in Government, in UN organizations, NGOs and Universities. She holds her MSc in Environmental Science and PhD in Political Science / Euro Mediterranean Studies.

Helena Molin Valdes

Head of the Secretariat

Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC), UNEP

Helena Molin Valdés is the head of the Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC) Secretariat at the UN Environment office in Paris, a position that she’s held since 2013. Helena is an experienced leader within the UN system. She was a senior executive with the UN Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR), where she led work on resilience, disaster risk reduction, sustainable development, and climate change related topics. She was UNISDR’s regional director for Latin America and the Caribbean and worked with the Pan American Health Organization on hospital mitigation and disaster preparedness. Before joining the UN Helena was a practicing architect, planner, and head of a Swedish NGO based in Central America that worked on community based projects and appropriate technology development, including improved bricks production and cook stoves with the University of Lund.

Hoesung Lee


Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)

Dr. Hoesung Lee is Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), elected since October 2015, and Endowed Chair Professor at Korea University Graduate School of Energy and Environment, Seoul, Korea. His research encompasses the economics of climate change, energy and sustainable development. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Korean Academy of Environmental Sciences, council member of the Global Green Growth Institute, and a member of the Asian Development Bank President’s Advisory Board on Climate Change and Sustainable Development.

Iván Arriagada


Antofagasta plc

Iván Arriagada has been CEO of Antofagasta plc since 2016. He previously held the post of CFO at Chilean state copper mining giant Codelco.

He previously served at BHP Billiton as Operations Vice-President, Base Metals and before this was CFO for BHP’s Base Metals group. Before entering the world of copper mining, he held various posts in finance and business development at Royal Dutch Shell.

Mr. Arriagada is also currently chairman of the International Copper Association, which brings together the major copper producers globally to promote the use of copper and sustainability in the industry. He is also co-chair of the Mining sector governors’ group of the World Economic Forum.

Jennie Dodson

Head of Mission Innovation Secretariat

Mission Innovation

Maimunah Mohd Sharif

Executive Director

United Nations Human Settlements Programme

Ms. Maimunah Mohd Sharif (Malaysia) is the Executive Director of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat), appointed at the level of Under-Secretary-General by the Secretary-General, following an election by the General Assembly on 22 December 2017. On 22 January 2018, Ms. Sharif assumed her post at UN-Habitat’s Headquarters in Nairobi, Kenya. She succeeds Dr. Joan Clos of Spain.

Prior to this appointment, Ms. Sharif was the Mayor of the City Council of Penang Island, Malaysia. In 2011, she became the first woman to be appointed President of the Municipal Council of Seberang Perai. As mayor, she led the Municipal Council of Seberang Perai to achieve its vision of a “cleaner, greener, safer and healthier place to work, live, invest and play.” She is a champion of Gender-Responsive Participatory Budgeting and Planning, integrating gender perspectives into the governance process. During her tenure, the Municipal Council of Seberang Perai was the first Local Authority to implement and achieve six quality-based management ISO certifications.

Mme. Marie-Christine Marghem

Minister, Federal Minister of Energy, Environment & Sustainable Development

Kingdom of Belgium

The Hon. George Heyman

Minister for Environment & Climate Change Strategy

The Government of Canada, the Province of British Columbia

George was the executive director of Sierra Club BC, one of the province’s oldest environmental advocacy and education organizations. He also served three terms as president of the BC Government and Service Employees’ Union (BCGEU). In both organizations, George was a respected negotiator and a strong fiscal manager. Prior to these positions he lived in Terrace for many years, and worked throughout BC’s northwest and coastal communities.

George has been a faculty member of Simon Fraser University’s Dialogue and Negotiation program, teaching courses in multi- party negotiations and collaborative decision-making. He has guest lectured at a number of universities in B.C. and abroad, and served on advisory committees for post-graduate and undergraduate degree programs at three B.C. universities.

George is a passionate advocate for issues facing his constituents, including education, health care, the arts, child care, workers’ rights, transit, affordable housing, environmental responsibility and climate action. He also advocates for a more sustainable, modern and diverse economy. George enjoys running, kayaking, live music and theatre.



Representing environment ministers, city leaders, UN agencies, private sector innovators and adopters


Discussing the circular economy, energy transition, sustainable mobility and climate finance


Attendees represent nations all across the globe with a big focus on Latin and North America
Register for 2019 :